85 reviews received
Write a review

Reviews of Boy X

Boy X

  • Smith, Dan. Boy X. Chicken House, 2016.
    ISBN 9781909489042

Boy X (or choose a different book)

So far we have received 24 reviews of Boy X. Why not write your own review?

Daisi from Dunraven Secondary School said:

I did not really like this book due to all the action and action is not really the type of story i would like to read. Boy X is about a boy who wakes up in this weird place and he does not really remember stuff and he has no idea why he is there. As he goes through this place where he has woken up, he witnesses so many strange and disturbing things that I wouldn't really like to read about.

To me it was hard to concentrate on the book because it wasn't really keeping my interest. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes action stories.

Star Rating:

28 Apr 2017 08:10

Maia from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

Boy X is about a boy who gets abducted by bad people because of his mother’s work. He met a girl called Isobel and they went through the jungle of Isla Negra.
I found this book very adventurous and something that I would like to see in a movie. Almost everything was very detailed, but there were some parts of the book ended very quickly and could have been more detailed. Overall I loved the book.

Star Rating:

27 Apr 2017 13:08

Eduardo from Dunraven Secondary School said:

I like Boy X because it has mystery and lot of action.
At the first 3 pages it has some mystery because Ash doesn’t know where he is or why is he there and he wants answers.
At the middle of the book there is more action and descriptive things of the parts of the jungle and the place he woke up.
I recommend the book to people who like action and adventure.

Star Rating:

26 Apr 2017 11:44

Yahya from Dunraven Secondary School said:

I believe Boy X is one of my favourite books that i read of my entire life as i found it a thriller and there were quite a lot of cliffhangers,though the only problem with the book is that it was a bit rushed and it felt as if they had a specific amount of pages and they had to cramp them in so that they could not go over the limit.

Rating: ⅘
Age Rating:10+
Language:Bit of Bad Language at times

Star Rating:

26 Apr 2017 11:33

Gabriel from Dunraven Secondary School said:


Boy x the book made in 2016 but it did not achieve my standards the book was rushed and not to descriptive.
They haven’t really described the characters and i had to read it twice to understand the plot to see if i missed things but i didn’t the reason i read it twice is because it didn't make much sense to me.

Star Rating:

26 Apr 2017 11:32

Gabriel from Dunraven Secondary School said:


Boy x the book made in 2016 but it did not achieve my standards the book was rushed and not to descriptive.
They haven’t really described the characters and i had to read it twice to understand the plot to see if i missed things but i didn’t the reason i read it twice is because it didn't make much sense to me.

Star Rating:

26 Apr 2017 11:28

Aferata from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

I love the book boy x because its filled with excitement, trills, scare and mysterious. It is one of my favourite books because every word I read engages me to read more and more it also gave me the tingle in my spine as I read and read it seems as something is coming close and close.

Star Rating:

24 Apr 2017 18:02

Aferata from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

I love the book boy x because its filled with excitement, trills, scare and mysterious. It is one of my favourite books because every word I read it engages me to read more and more it also gave me the tingle in my spine as I read and read it seems as something is coming close and close.

Star Rating:

24 Apr 2017 12:52

Vanessa from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

Boy X is about Ash and Isabel as they venture through a remote tropical Island, where Ash woke up after he woke. They go on an adventure to find the cure for a deadly virus called Kronos. The cure was taken by Pierce, Ash and Isabel have to find them and get the cure before the laboratory, that developed Kronos, goes on into complete lockdown, also before Ash's Mum and Isabel's Dad die from Kronos.

I love adventure and action books and Boy X had me hooked from the first few pages. The suspense at some parts and danger in other parts made me keep reading. Such a fantastic book!

Star Rating:

23 Apr 2017 17:00

Ella V from Streatham and Clapham High School for Girls said:

This book is all about a boy who wakes up on a remote island and , as all of us would, he panicked. His mum working at a 'boring' unknown company , the logo is all over the island . Can he work out why he's here and what 'they' possibly want?

Star Rating:

21 Apr 2017 12:28

Ella from The Norwood School said:

This is my second review on Boy X because I couldn't fit how much I LOVED this book into one review. I think that Dan Smith is an exceptionally talented author to have come up with this story plot. It is so clever and I couldn't put it down.

When I first saw this book I thought that it wouldn't be my sort of book as I don't usually read this genre of book but I am so happy that I did because It was BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


I thought that every single element of this book was AMAZING!!! The plot, the tension, the characterisation......I could go on and on about the Amazing elements of this book but I do not want to make it tediously long.

100%

Star Rating:

19 Apr 2017 17:46

Audrey from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

The plot of the story was interesting an seems quite intriguing. Although it wasn't my cup of tea. Instantly when i read the first page i was a bit bored. Usually when i read a first page similar to Boy x i would be glued to the page, however i wasn't. As i went into the story, it seemed like i was reading forever and ever and the book was getting quite tedious. Sadly i wasn't able to finish the book.

Star Rating:

18 Apr 2017 17:05

Bianca from La Retraite Catholic School for Girls said:

This book follows the story of Ash McCarthy, a boy who wakes up in a white room on a tropical island after being drugged and kidnapped, and who then proceeds to try to save the quarantined scientists (including his mother) with the help of Isabel, one of the residents of the Black Island along with her father. They are forced to travel to the other side of the island, through the dangers, to retrieve the cure. But everything is not what it seems.

Boy X was extremely fascinating for me from the first page. I loved how mysterious it was when Ash woke up in the room, and how every hallway was so alike that he could barely find the exit. The voice in his head also added a peculiar aspect to the personality of Ash, as it made me question if the voice was implanted into his brain or if it was his inner voice, his conscience advising him or warning him. I admired the mantra that he constantly had to repeat for the sake of bravery as well.

This book seems different from the other thrilling survival stories that there are, because no answer ever seems clear until the very end. For example, the countdown on every chapter gave me the impression that the scientists that were infected with Kronos had no chance of surviving, and it upsetting me, considering how much Ash and Isabel strove to get the cure. I commend Isabel's determination because, even though she was contaminated with Kronos during their expedition through the jungle, she vowed to at least help Ash as much as possible until her condition worsened--she even made it a point to inform Ash of directions and instructions to follow just in case she couldn't make it. There were so many twists in this one story that I felt my heart beating. I assumed that Thorn was a good guy, especially because he gave Isabel the last cure, only to be proven wrong when Ash acknowledged the fact that Thorn was only after the disease when he was going to "save" him. I genuinely thought that Isabel was a goner when she was captured by Cain, only to find out that Cain was trying to save them from Thorn.

This is a book that I would definitely recommend to anyone. This is my favourite out of the four books for the Phoenix Book Awards. ♥

Star Rating:

18 Apr 2017 15:19

Ibrahim from The Norwood School said:

Boy x is an amazing book set on a remote tropical island near the coast of Costa Rica. About jungle survival, this book is perfect for jungle survivors.

Kidnapped and drugged, Ash McCarthy(son of a scientist) wakes up on a remote tropical island near the coast of Costa Rica. Not knowing where he or his mum is, Ash is in for a surprise.

Join Ash and his friend Isabel as they set out into the dangerous jungle to save Ash's mum who is imprisoned and injected with a deadly virus. Whilst in the jungle, Ash notices something very peculiar; he is more quicker and sharper than before. Also, why are all the creatures in the jungle staring at him? And how can he use that as an advantage?

This book was jam packed with suspense which is why I finished the book in one night. What I also liked about this boo was that the jungle seemed much more dangerous than a normal jungle.

Amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this book to readers above the age of 7.

Star Rating:

17 Apr 2017 11:03

Aliyah from The Norwood School said:

Boy x is an amazing book about Ash, the male protagonist, who goes on an adventure with his friend isabella to get what they need before time runs out. At the same time they are also being chased by another character(thorn) and soon the story starts to unravel...


my opinion I think that this book is absolutely amazingg it's packed with lots after action and adventure in it and I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves action themed books

Star Rating:

06 Apr 2017 14:33

musab from Dunraven Secondary School said:

Boy X


Boy X is an amazing book in my opinion because it i loved how ash car thy has to find out who he is and I really enjoyed the ending because didn't become a random ending unlike other books I really enjoyed this book it was my favourite out of all the phoenix books.

I would suggest this book to people who love action and adventure.

Star Rating:

29 Mar 2017 11:43

Safiya from Dunraven Secondary School said:

Boy X was a very enjoyable book to read. It was full of adventure and mystery! It’s definitely the type of book I would recommend to someone who loves adventure. The book had a satisfying ending and a great beginning, it was a real page turner and very gripping!

Star Rating:

29 Mar 2017 11:41

Josie from Streatham and Clapham High School for Girls said:

Boy x is a real page turner with all its twist and turns unwinding the story with a new dilemma on every page. It is about a boy Ash Mcarthey who has woken up on a remote tropical island that has a life-threatening virus floating in the air. Ashes job is to venture around the island with a friend to try to destroy this disease and stop it from killing his mother. This book is one of my best reads, and I really recommend this gripping novel for other people to read.

Star Rating:

28 Mar 2017 18:19

jadon from The Norwood School said:

Boy X is an amazing book by Dan Smith

This book is good because it displays action, survival and terror.
My two favourite characters are Cain because she was very good at being undercover and nobody in the book suspected her. And Ash because he saved every body in the world and Isabel multiple times.

Awsome!!!!!!!!!

Star Rating:

28 Mar 2017 15:57

Nicole from The Elmgreen School said:

Synopsis: Kidnapped and drugged, Ash wakes up on a remote tropical island. His mum – a genetic scientist – has been imprisoned and infected with a deadly virus. Where is he, and what’s he doing there? He sets out to cross the jungle to find out and rescue his mother. Soon he realises he’s quicker and sharper than before. But there’s something else …why are the animals watching him, and how can he use the jungle to his advantage?

My Review: Dan Smith is a fantastic author, and I was so excited to hear about Boy X, his latest book! I made time to read it as soon as my copy arrived, as I was really interested by the synopsis.

Boy X begins when Ash McCarthy wakes up, a week after his father’s funeral, in a mysterious island lab where chaos has broken out. Confused and afraid, he meets Isabel, daughter of another scientist trapped and infected. Together, they have to face the depths of this peculiar jungle, racing against the clock to find the cure for the virus.

As always, Dan Smith’s writing is brilliantly paced and addictive – I read most of the book in one night, totally disregarding school work, because I was really eager to see the mystery unravel. I really enjoyed the plot – it’s gripping, but not overly complex so I think the story will appeal to a lot of different age groups.

The characters were really awesome – Ash and Isabel made a great team fighting their way across the jungle to work out the truth about the virus. I really loved their chemistry. It’s a little hard to talk about why I loved Ash without spoiling elements of the story – but I did really enjoy his back story and how well he tied into everything.

Overall, Boy X was a really fantastic read – it will definitely appeal to lots of readers, from MG fans to adults! Every book I read from Dan Smith just gets better and better. I can’t wait to see what he writes next. Recommended!

Star Rating:

26 Mar 2017 19:14

Ella from The Norwood School said:

BOY X by Dan Smith is a gripping novel filled with action, adventure and adrenaline.

Ash McCarthy is the son of a scientist. He thinks that this is the most boring job ever, for now....
When he wakes up on a mysterious, remote island and discovers a deadly virus that may wipe out every human on the planet, everything will change!

BRILLIANT!!! Filled with not only an amazing plot, but incredible language.

Star Rating:

16 Mar 2017 17:44

Edie from Streatham and Clapham High School for Girls said:

'Boy X' is a page-turning book that keeps you on the edge of your seat with suspense.
Ash McArthy wakes up in a high-tech lab in a deserted tropical island, but something is not as it should be. He pairs up with explorer Isabel and embarks on a life-threatening, breath-taking adventure to save the world. Who can they trust? What is the mystery behind Isle Negra? What life-shattering memories will reveal themselves? Will Ash ever be safe?
This book is a fast paced thriller that you will find impossible to put down. It merges mystery, adventure and sheer terror to create a great read.
People who are fans of Percy Jackson or Harry Potter will love this book, but I recommend it to all!

Star Rating:

16 Mar 2017 13:52

Erin from The Elmgreen School said:

Boy X is a high adrenaline, fast paced novel. Ash, a twelve year old boy wakes up in a desolate lab and finds out something that changes his life. This book is a great read and will keep you on your toes. If you like books such as Alex Rider, you will love this one. Ash will take you on an emotional journey and will keep you wanting more.
Overall I really enjoyed this highly exciting read and I think you will too. I like this book because it is interesting, has a good female character and the storyline flows brilliantly. I guarantee you won’t be able to put this book down!

Star Rating:

06 Mar 2017 16:54

Bilikisu from The Elmgreen School said:

Boy X was an exciting book with lots of adventure. It is an action book that includes suspense which makes the book sustainable. Ash goes on an adventure with his new friend. Their mission is to save the world. During their adventure they meet people who claim they are trustworthy. Ash and his friend have to decide whether or not they are trustworthy.

Star Rating:

06 Mar 2017 16:53

RSS Feed

News

Dan Smith wins 2017 Phoenix Book Award for Boy X

Huge congratulations to Dan Smith who won the Phoenix Book Award 2017 for Boy X!

On 4th May 2017 students from Elmgreen, Dunraven, Lilian Baylis, La Retraite, Streatham & Clapham High School and Platenos gathered at The Norwood School for the much anticipated finale celebration.

It was a fantastic morning filled with student presentations, film and drama. We were very lucky to have two of the shortlisted authors, Dan Smith and Katherine Woodfine, in attendance. Both gave fantastic presentations on their love of reading, their books and inspirations.

We were also very honoured to host Mayor Marcia Cameron who delivered an inspiring speech on her love for reading before handing out prizes and certificates to the students.

All 4 of the shortlisted books had been thoroughly enjoyed by the book groups - but the winner, as voted for by the students, is the gripping thriller Boy X by Dan Smith!

Message from Dan:

"These kinds of awards always mean so much because the readers choose their favourite books, write reviews, and vote for the winner. In the case of the Phoenix Book Award, the students even choose the shortlist. On the day, the students were amazing - different schools championed different books, giving presentations, showing films, and there was even a short piece of drama written especially for the occasion! And when it was time to announce the winner, it was so exciting to hear Boy X being called out! The students were fantastic, the organisation was perfect, and it was a huge honour to win. Thank you to everyone who voted for Boy X - the trophy is now proudly displayed on my bookshelf."

Photos from the event can be found in our Photo Gallery.

Dan Smith's response to 2017 shortlist place

DAN SMITH SAYS: "I am honoured and thrilled that Boy X has been shortlisted for the Phoenix Book Award! I wrote the book in the hope that younger readers would enjoy the adventure, so it's especially exciting to be shortlisted for an award like this - where the younger readers are in charge and they get to choose and vote for their favourites!"

G R Gemin's response to 2017 shortlist place

G R GEMIN SAYS: "When you write a book you are communicating, but you never know how your writing will be received by readers. So when Sweet Pizza was shortlisted for the Lambeth Phoenix Award it made all the hard work worthwhile.

I believe the book has an important message for its readers, which is we all have a story, and that history does not necessarily begin in the country in which we are born. We all have histories: our parents, grandparents and carers all have their stories which are important to know and remember. In the story of Sweet Pizza Joe finds out about the history of his grandfather and great grandfather. You too can do the same - you can ask your parents and grandparents or carers about their stories, their histories. It is called oral history. It is just as vital as the many history books and stories that you will come to know through your school work and research.

So I invite you to find out about your family histories and record them in a document, on paper or on computer, because I guarantee that as you grow older you will be glad you did it, as it will be a record that is unique to you and your family for years to come.

Thank you for shortlisting Sweet Pizza, I'm really sorry I can't be at the award event but I wish you enjoyment in reading and discovering all there is to know about your families and where you come from."

Robert Beatty's response to 2017 shortlist place

ROBERT BEATTY SAYS: "Thank you so much for nominating Serafina and the Black Cloak for the 2017 Lambeth Phoenix Book Award. I am so pleased and honored that the first book in the Serafina Series is one of your favorite books this year. I wrote Serafina and the Black Cloak with my daughters when they were 10 and 12 years old. They helped me to create the Serafina character and the story. They were very excited to hear about being nominated for this award. So, thank you for that.

Also, if you haven’t done so already, please be sure to watch the book trailers for the first two books in the series. My family and I made these trailers near our home where the books are set. My wife made the beautiful costumes, my younger daughter plays the Serafina role, and my older daughter plays the role of Lady Rowena (book 2). We even used our dog in the trailer! :)

http://robert-beatty.com/serafina-book-trailer/
http://robert-beatty.com/serafina-twisted-staff-book-trailer/

Good luck in the final phase of Book Award process. We look forward to learning the results. And best of luck with your studies and the remainder of the school year.

2017 Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the 2017 Phoenix Book Award has been announced. Please visit our Books page for full details.

RSS Feed Microformats

Events

4 May 2017
2017 Finale

The The Phoenix Book Award 2017 finale will take place on 4th May 2017 at The Norwood School.

The Phoenix Book Award 2017 Finale

Cool Ideas

  • Write a review here on the website
  • Design a film poster/advert for the book
  • Write a diary entry for one of the characters
  • Interview one of the characters
  • Research the author on the internet and prepare a presentation for the class

About the Award

This exciting South London based Book Prize targets Year 5, 6, 7 and 8 pupils in Lambeth, encouraging them to read through the transition years. Phoenix is a unique book prize as students are involved in every stage of the award; from picking the shortlist, to shadowing the award and then finally voting for their favourite. It is open to all schools in the Lambeth area - for more information please contact Sandra Davidson via our Contact page.

Pupils from Elmgreen School, La Retraite, Lillian Bayliss and The Norwood School had the responsibility of selecting and voting for books from a longlist of 32 titles to pick the 4 titles that are on this year's shortlist. The winner will be announced on 4th May 2017 at the finale event, being held at The Norwood School.